Three CMCSS Elementary Schools earn 2020-2021 Reward School designation by TDOE

September 17, 2021

Three CMCSS schools were recently named Reward Schools by the Tennessee Department of Education (TDOE) for the 2020-2021 school year. Montgomery Central, Rossview, and Sango Elementary schools were all awarded the designation due to their student success in achievement and growth.

Although schools were held harmless for the 2020-2021 school year, they were still eligible for Reward status even if they did not have a letter grade assigned. According to a statement by the TDOE,  “Reward schools for the 2020-2021 school year are those who would have earned Reward status if the accountability system were used this year.”

Traditionally, this designation indicates the school is performing in the top 5% of the state. 

“It was an inspiration to watch the students and teachers work through last year together,” said Dr. Angela Huff, Interim Director of School. “Our dedicated staff and administrators remained laser-focused on the mission to educate and empower students. This achievement is proof of their efforts.”